Special elections in Visayas and Mindanao on May 14

There are still three (3) villages in Visayas and Mindanao will be holding special polls, along with 11 towns, on Saturday, May 14.

The Commission on Elections, through Comelec Resolution No. 10135,which orders special elections for 52 clustered precincts. Declared failure of elections in Barangay Katuli, Sultan Kudarat, Maguindanao; Barangay Binucayan in Loreto, Agusan del Sur; and Barangay Palayog in Hinigaran, Negros Occidental.

The decision affects at least 2,134 voters in the three villages, and another 17,657 voters from 11 towns.

“The Armed Forces of the Philippines and the Philippine National Police shall intensify efforts to ensure the holding of orderly and peaceful special elections in the aforementioned areas,” the resolution stated. 

Some incidents that forced Comelec not to hold elections in a certain area include the shooting of a soldier in Northern Samar, the burning of a vote-counting machine by armed men in Western Samar, and a fire incident in the school that serves as a voting center in Lanao del Sur.

On the other hand, one clustered precinct did not have printed ballots, lack of official ballots and wrong delivery of official ballots were the cause of poll postponement in a clustered precinct in Barangay Binucayan and Barangay Palayog, respectively.

Below is the list of affected clustered precincts:

Photo credit: Inquirer
Source: GMA news , Inquirer.net

No comments

Template images by Jason Morrow. Powered by Blogger.